2024 “Universe in the Park” starts July 6

Universe In The Park 2024
Summer Telescope
Observing Program

The Minnesota Institute for Astrophysics is once again hosting the “Universe in the Park” telescope observing program on Friday and Saturday evenings this summer, starting July 6, 2024.

Date Day Venue
July 6 Saturday Nerstrand Big Woods State Park
July 12 Friday Father Hennepin State Park
July 13 Saturday Mille Lacs Kathio State Park
July 19 Friday Lake Maria State Park
July 20 Saturday Nerstrand Big Woods State Park
July 26 Friday Dodge Nature Center, West St. Paul site
July 27 Saturday Afton State Park
August 2 Friday Gooseberry Falls State Park
August 3 Saturday Tettegouche State Park
August 9 Friday Lake Louise State Park
August 10 Saturday Forestville/Mystery Cave
August 16 Friday Dodge Nature Center, Cottage Grove site
August 17 Saturday Eastman Nature Center
August 23 Friday Afton State Park
August 24 Saturday Wild River State Park
August 30 Friday Wild River State Park

These star-gazing evenings at Minnesota parks and nature centers are presented in association with the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources, the Three Rivers Park District, and the Dodge Nature Center not-for-profit organization.

The Institute for Astrophysics, part of the University of Minnesota’s College of Science and Engineering, hopes to convey the excitement of astronomical research and amateur astronomy.

Each viewing evening began with a short talk and slide show, and questions from the audience were encouraged. After the presentation, if weather allowed, attendees were able to view the sky through multiple 8-inch reflecting telescopes. Free star maps from Skymaps.com were provided.

Presentations covered a wide variety of astronomical topics, including the history of matter, the solar system, galaxies, and how astronomers “see” outside the visible spectrum.

Universe in the Park is headed by University of Minnesota faculty member Evan Skillman and graduate student Nico Adams.

The Minnesota Space Grant Consortium helps support Universe in the Park.

Universe in the Park presentation

“Universe in the Park” website
“Universe @ Home” website
Public Telescope Viewing website
Skymaps.com

“Universe @ Home” YouTube Channel

Dodge Nature Center
Three Rivers Park District
Minnesota Department of Natural Resources

July 21, 2020 – Minnesota Institute for Astrophysics
Introduces “Universe @ Home” – mspmag.com

University of Wisconsin “Universe in the Park”